Skip to content

How to Migrate to Australia as a Skilled Worker



Recently, Australia’s Skilled Immigration Program accounted for the coming in of almost 80,000 workers under the Skilled Migration Stream. This ensures Australia can meet the shortages in occupations that need workers desperately.

Skilled workers Migration to Australia aims to attract candidates from different parts of the world who are eager to move to Australia and make an outstanding contribution to the economy and growing nation.


This page is intended to give a summary that will assist you in migrating to Australia as a Skilled Worker.

Migrate to Australia as a Skilled Worker

How to Migrate to Australia as a Skilled Worker

The Skilled Workers Needed in Australia

Department of Home Affairs releases to the potential applicants of the skilled migration program a list of the occupations the Government deems skilled.


 This list is compiled using the ANZSCO (Australian and New Zealand Standard Classification of Occupations) for each occupation which contains, among other things:

  1. The Australian and New Zealand Standard Classification of Occupations job title
  2. The skill level expected to complete the said job and
  3. The required qualifications and the years of experience needed to work in the said occupation.

What Skills Are Required to Migrate to Australia?

Depending on which skilled role you have and are eligible to apply for, different occupations will list the skills required to migrate to Australia. The requirements for these skills include 

levels of education, on-the-job experience, and offshore and onshore training. As mentioned earlier, the ANZSCO list of skilled occupations requires a certain skill level to complete each rank and role. 

The Skill Level 1 – 5 includes:

  1. Skill Level 1 – is required to have a bachelor’s degree or high qualification
  2. Skill Level 2 – is required to have Australian Qualifications Framework, Associate Degree, Diploma or Advanced Diploma
  3. Skill Level 3 –Is expected to have Australian Qualifications Framework Certificate IV or Australian Qualifications Framework certificate III with at least 2 years of on-the-job training.
  4. Skill Level 4 –is expected to have Australian Qualifications Framework Certificate II or III.
  5. Skill Level 5 – is required to have Australian Qualifications Framework Certificate I or compulsory secondary education.

To be qualified to apply for a visa under the General Skilled Migration Program in Australia, you will need to partake in a skills assessment conducted by Home Affairs, an approved assessment authority in Australia. This skills assessment is conducted to make sure that you can make available to the Department sufficient proof that you have the required skills for the role you are applying for. 

Points for Skilled Immigration and How Many Do You Need?

To apply or request under the General Skilled Migration Program, in addition to the requirements mentioned above, the Department of Home Affairs uses a points system to assess the eligibility of candidates. To be eligible to apply under the General Skilled Migration, a candidate must get at least sixty-five points (65pts).

These points are given based on several factors, including 

  1. A candidate’s age,
  2. Their English proficiency level, work experience (onshore and offshore),
  3. Their educational and spouse qualifications.

Australian Skilled Worker Visas available 

This country offers multiple skilled work visas that you may be qualified to apply for. The visas have different requirements for you to qualify for any of them. The visas include the following:

  1.  Employer Nomination Scheme visa known as subclass 186
  2. Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme visa known as subclass 187
  3. Skilled Independent visa subclass 189
  4. Skilled Nominated visa subclass 190
  5. Training visa subclass 407
  6. Temporary Skill Shortage TSS visa subclass 482
  7. Temporary Graduate visa subclass 485 (Graduate Work)
  8. Skilled Regional Provisional visa is also known as subclass 489
  9. Skilled Work Regional provisional visa, subclass 491
  10. Skilled Employer Sponsored Regional provisional visa, subclass 494.

Requirements for Australia Skilled Worker Visa 

To apply for a visa under the General skilled migration, you must be sure that your chosen occupation belongs to any of the listed occupations under the ANZSCO and that you already have an approved skills assessment by a considerable authority. 

Additionally, you can apply for a visa only if you are invited to come after completing an Expression of Interest process through SkillSelect.


This Department uses SkillSelect to assess Expression of interest applications made by candidates who desire to apply for skilled visas in Australia. The applicant will be invited to apply first to apply for Skilled Regional (Provisional) visas and confident independence. And this can only be done by filing an Expression of interest with SkillSelect, where an applicant will provide English language ability, work experience, family composition, and qualifications to acquire an invitation to apply.

Age Limit for Australia Skilled Worker Visa 

As the Department of Home Affairs requires, an applicant cannot apply for a Permanent Skills Based Visa if they are above forty-five.

With the points test set out by the Department, the desired age for applicants entering under the General Skilled Management is at least 25 years old and less than 33 years.

Processing Time Australia Skilled Worker Visa 

Processing times for Visas depend on the subclass of skilled visa applied.

The Department sets out certain skilled visas that are subject to priority processing. 

These visas include:

  1. Subclass 124 for Distinguished Talent
  2. Subclass 186 for Employer Nomination Scheme
  3. Subclass 187 for Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme
  4. Subclass 188 for Business Innovation and Investment
  5. Subclass 189 for skilled – Independent visa Points-tested Stream
  6. Subclass 190 for Skilled – Nominated
  7. Subclass 489 for Skilled – Regional Provisional visa
  8. Subclass 491 for Skilled Work Regional Provisional visa
  9. Subclass 494 for Employer-Sponsored Regional Provisional
  10. Subclass 858 for Global Talent

The Department has further outlined that priority processing is determined by:

 One of the followings: 

1. The employer Sponsored or Regional Sponsored nominated occupation is specified in the Priority Migration Skilled Occupation List 

  • The employer Sponsored or Regional Sponsored where the applied occupation is an Agriculture Sector Occupation.
  • If an employer nominates the applicant under a Global Talent Employer Sponsored Agreement
  • All applications are identified through the Global Talent Program.

2. Occupations found in a Critical Sector

3. Employer Sponsored or Regional Sponsored by an employer who is a party to a labor agreement under a Designated Area Migration Agreement

4. Subclass 494 Employer-Sponsored Regional (Provisional, ​where an approved sponsor nominates the applicant with Accredited Status/ nominated by a labor agreement that is not mentioned in priority (1)5. 


In conclusion, is it possible to migrate to Australia as a skilled worker if you wish to but with the requirements? You must check this page for the requirements to migrate to Australia as a skilled worker

Read Also: How to Renew an Australian Permanent Resident (PR) Visa

Australia Visa Application Processing Time 2022

How to Migrate to Australia as a Medical Doctor 2023

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *